Carrick Cup 2009

Junior's Noticeboard : Carrick Cup 2009

  • Carrick Cup 2009 Winners
 -- SWL Organiser, Bob Owens, receiving the Carrick Cup from Richard Joyce, Vice Captain on behalf of the triumphant juniors (from left to right) Dom Butler, Daniel Lane, Rob Owens, Jay Underwood & James Leggitt.

    Carrick Cup 2009 Winners

Played for the first time in 2008, the Carrick Cup is competed for between the junior South Warwickshire League team and the men's Mid Warwickshire League team.  Last year the juniors suffered a heavy defeat and were keen to seek their revenge this time around. 

With the first three pairs playing off scratch there were good wins for Rob Owens over Ben Hammond and Alice Young produced the best golf of the day to beat Dean Sparrow.  The only point for the Mid Warwickshire League in the scratch games was won by James Lammond who came back from two down to overcome Daniel Lane.  The remaining matches, played off handicap, saw James Leggitt halve with David Howe whilst Dom Butler beat Maurice Langman and Jay Underwood beat Tony Hammond who kindly stood in at the last minute for the Mid Warwickshire League team.

The final result was a win for Kenilworth's juniors by 4.5 points to 1.5 points.

Our thanks go to our President, Mike Carrick, who not only donated the trophy for this event but also kindly sponsored a BBQ after the match.