2008 Junior Results

Foundation Trophy - 30 October 2008

With snow still lying on parts of the course, it is perhaps not surprising that the field for the final 'major' competition of the year was smaller than usual.  However, those that braved the conditions demonstrated that good scoring was still possible.  Stuart Budd came home in pole position with a gross 99, nett 70 to claim overall victory by just one shot from Alice Young who continues to show great consistency with a gross 78, nett 71.  Alice's excellent 78 gave her the best gross score with a very comfortable winning margin of eight shots! 

Matt Bolshaw won Division 1 with a nett score of 72 with Lewis Barge a shot further back on 73 and Dominic Butler a distant third with a nett  78.  Division 2 was won by the overall winner, Stuart Budd, with Will Linford runner up with a nett 74 whilst Chris Armstrong's nett score of 76 was good enough to secure third place.

  Winner 2nd Place 3rd Place
Division 1 Matt Bolshaw (72) Lewis Barge (73) Dominic Butler (78)
Division 2 Stuart Budd (70) Will Linford (74) Chris Armstrong (76)
37 - 54 category No Entries    

The full results for the Foundation Trophy are available by clicking here

Presidents Putter - 18 August 2008

A combination of breezy conditions on the day of the competition and soft fairways were always likely to favour those with lower handicaps and so it was no surprise to see the players in Division 1 dominating this event.  Matt Bolshaw lead the way with a gross 85, nett 66 to claim overall victory by one shot over Division 2 winner, Rees Herrod who continued his recent good form with a gross 94, nett 67.

Dom Hands was runner up in Division 1 with a nett score of 68 whilst Harry Fitzpatrick's nett score of 69 was good enough to secure third place.   In Division 2, Will Linford was runner up with a nett 71 finishing two shots clear of Dom Hobbs in third place with a nett score of 73.

Daniel Lane's gross score of 78 was the best of the day with a three shot margin over Taylor McDonald.

In the 37 - 54 handicap category Matt Spencer was the clear winner with a nett score of 68.

  Winner 2nd Place 3rd Place
Division 1 Matt Bolshaw (66) Dom Hands (68) Harry Fitzpatrick (69)
Division 2  Rees Herrod (67) Will Linford (71) Dom Hobbs (73)
37 - 54 category Matt Spencer (68)    

The full results for the Presidents Putter are available by clicking here

Dudley Taylor Trophy - 14 August 2008

The good scoring that has been prevalent all season amongst Kenilworth's juniors continued to be evident during the Dudley Taylor Trophy with Dom Hobbs narrowly winning on a countback after both boys finished with nett scores of 66.  Matt Hobbs, brother of Dom, was just one shot adrift of the winners with a nett score of 67.

In Division 1 Dan Edgington continued his good form with a score of 80 off a handicap of 11 for a nett score of 69.  Taylor McDonald was the runner up with a nett score of 70 with Daniel Lane coming in third with a nett 72.

Robert Owens had the best gross score with an excellent 77 in testing conditions to beat Taylor McDonald by a two shot margin. 

In the nine hole event for those with handicaps between 37 and 54, Sam Mason was the best on the day with a nett score of 34 for the front nine.

  Winner 2nd Place 3rd Place
Division 1 Dan Edgington (69) Taylor McDonald (70) Daniel Lane (72)
Division 2 Dom Hobbs (66) Harry Moffatt (66) Matt Hobbs (67)
37 - 54 category Sam Mason (34)    

The full results for the Dudley Taylor Trophy are available by clicking here

EGGS Trophy - 11 August 2008

Playing in his first competition at Kenilworth Golf Club, Rees Herrod produced a superb nett score of 56 with a gross score of 91 off a handicap of 35 to claim the EGGS Trophy by eight shots from Harry Philpot who came in with a very respectable nett score of 64 (86-22=64).  In third place, three shots further back, was Harry Fitzpatrick with a nett score of 67 (87-20=67).

Struggling to match the scoring achieved by those with higher handicaps, Division 1 was won by Dan Edgington who came back in level par for a gross 80 off his handicap of 11 for a nett 69 to beat Daniel Lane (77-8=69) on a countback.  Adam Newbold continued with his consistent season with a nett 70 for third place in Division 1.

The best gross scrore of the day was achieved by Daniel Lane with 77 to just edge out Robert Owens who was one shot further back. 

In the nine hole event for those with handicaps between 37 and 54 the honours went to Matthew Bull with a remarkable gross score of 48 over the front nine off a handicap (not for long!) of 45.  This equated to a nett score of 25 for the front nine.  Matthew played the three par 3's in one under par gross - a score any category 1 player would be delighted with!

  Winner 2nd Place 3rd Place
Division 1 Dan Edgington (69) Daniel Lane (69) Adam Newbold (70)
Division 2 Rees Herrod (56) Harry Philpot (64) Harry Fitzpatrick (69)
37 - 54 category Matthew Bull (25)    

The full results for the EGGS Trophy are available by clicking here

Switch to Desktop ViewSwitch to Mobile View